Nebraska Vital Records

Nebraska Vital Records

The Office of Vital Records maintains all state level vital files in Nebraska, including those records that relate to a person’s key life events. These events could include births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and others. The documents relating to these events may include, but are not limited to, birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, marriage certificates, divorce decrees, divorce certificates and other divorce records. These records are all stored together in a central registry in order to be used for statistical analysis.

Divorce Records

A divorce record is the document or documents issued upon the registration of a divorce/annulment. These documents will be issued by a government official. Since the 1850’s in Nebraska, the district court or county clerk has kept all divorce documents. The Bureau of Vital Statistics holds divorce records since 1909. When a person files for a divorce or annulment, the issued documents are stored with other state vital records. These may include divorce certificates, divorce decrees, and divorce records. It depends on the particular state as to whether these documents can be viewed by the public. Divorce records cost $16 in Nebraska. In 2016, there were 5,949 total divorces in the state, and 33 annulments.

Marriage Records

Marriage records are also issued by government officials after the wedding is registered. Marriage records in Nebraska have been recorded by individual counties since their creation. Since 1867, marriage records have included the names of the bride and groom’s parents too. A person can obtain a copy of a marriage document by writing a request to the county’s probate judge. The Nebraska State Historical Society holds some of the earliest Nebraska marriage records. A state-wide registration was implemented in 1909. Since that year, the county clerks have been required to send record copies to the Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records cost $16 in Nebraska. In 2016, there were 12,338 total marriages in the state.

Birth Records

A birth record refers to the certificate issued upon the birth of every child in Nebraska, or a certified copy of this certificate. A few city health departments in Nebraska were responsible for some of the state’s earliest birth records. The city of Omaha has records dating back to 1869. Some counties began registration before a state-wide order was introduced. A person much contact the relevant county clerks in order to obtain birth records. Incomplete county records are available at the Bureau of Vital Statistics dating back before 1905. State-wide registration was implemented in 1904, and complied with by 1920. Delayed registrations from before this time are available from 1917. Records are kept/collected at the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. Birth certificates cost $17 in Nebraska. In 2016, there were 26,594 total births in the state.

Death Records

Death records refer to the document issued upon a person’s death, or a copy of the information within this document. Death records were registered at an early date from county offices. Onomah has death records dating back to 1873. A few counties began recording before a state-wide registration was introduced. Records from this period are incomplete though, and can be found at the Nebraska Bureau of Vital Records. State-wide registration was implemented in 1904, and complied with by 1920. Records are kept/collected at the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. Death records cost $16 in Nebraska. In 2016, there were 16,207 total deaths in the state.

Why are these records available to the public?

The Nebraska Public Records Act was introduced in 1886, with the most recent amendments coming in 2007. The act aims to ensure all members of the public can access public records in Nebraska. All records maintained by both state and local government can be accessed and copied by the public, as is their fundamental right.

To access records:

Gold's Building, 1033 O St #130,
Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone: (402) 471-2871

Nebraska State Archives

State Archives

Contact: (531) 201-6065

Results Include

Full State Record Report:

  • Marriage Records
  • Divorce Records
  • Death Records
  • Birth Records
  • Criminal Records
  • Assets
  • Property Ownership
  • Bankruptcies
  • Judgments
  • Liens
  • Public Records
  • Addresses
  • Phone Numbers
  • Relatives & Associates


  • State Archives holds over 20,000 cubic feet of records.
  • There are 2 levels of Courts: trial and appellate.
  • The Court of Appeals consists of six judges appointed by the Governor from lists submitted by judicial nominating commissions.  From the six judges, a chief judge is selected to serve a 2-year renewable term.
  • There are 12 District Courts in Nebraska, one in each of the 12 districts.
  • There are 93 County Courts in Nebraska, one in each of the 93 counties.
  • The highest Court in Nebraska is Nebraska Supreme Court.
  • Clay Center
  • Humanities Nebraska
  • Photo-Omaha-Police-Foundation
  • nebraska-community-foundation-logo
  • Nabraska-Family-Alliance-logo_created